RSS

Happy Birthday!

26 Feb

It’s been a great day of celebrating my aging family today.  My brother-in-law just so happens to share a birthday with my mom.  This morning I spent about an hour and a half talking to mommy on one of the greatest inventions ever, Skype.

If you have an internet connection (obviously you do as you’re reading this post) and don’t have a Skype account then your really missing out on an amazing opportunity.  It’s especially wonderful as I live on opposite sides of the globe from my mother.

After making my mom’s day complete by entertaining het with her grandson it was go time.  My brother-in-law requested a cooking lesson for his birthday present this year, opting to make his own birthday cake.

As the cake went in the oven I ran out the door to pick up lunch.  A beautiful 24″ pepperoni pizza.  The rest of the afternoon was spent decorating the cake.

Dinner was wonderful with my mother-in-law cooking each of us a pidgeon, spinach with crab sauce, and fish 2 ways.  All was washed down with some Barefoot Shiraz and followed by a mini fireworks show.

Even though it’s not my birthday, I still can’t help but feel like I’m the one that received all the gifts today.  From skype, to huge pizzas, to black forest cake…it sure was a great day.

Happy Birthday!

image

(and happy pistachio day for those of you keeping track)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Happy Birthday!

  1. Sharon Cameron Zalatan

    February 27, 2012 at 2:45 am

    Happy Birthday to my birthday twin in Hong Kong! Looks like the cooking lesson went well since the cake looks so yummy!! When do I get my cake?

    Enjoying some pistachios today, chili lime flavored!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
