RSS

Peach Melba

14 Jan
Peach Melba

Happy peach melba day!! (a day late)

January 13th is peach melba day, and although I am posting this on the 14th I promise it was celebrated on the proper day.  Ok, enough excuses…on to the celebration!

A peach melba is simply cooked peaches with ice cream and a raspberry sauce.  I decided to take a crack at it myself as I don’t recall ever having this dessert before.

First I halved the peaches, removed the pits, and simmered them, skin on, in a vanilla syrup for about 3 minutes per side.

Then I removed them and allowed them to cool slightly before removing the skin.

Second was the raspberry sauce.  I kept it simple and tossed a pint of raspberries, 3Tbsp of powdered sugar, and 1tsp of lemon juice into a food processor.  I decided the sauce was a bit thick so I then added about 3Tbsp of port, blended it all together and ran it through a sieve to remove all the seeds.

Next step is to pop the peaches back into the lemon syrup just long enough to get them hot again, assemble, serve, and enjoy!

I saved 3 halves to play with later as I may have an idea for a twist on this classic.

Happy peach melba day!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 14, 2012 in Dessert, food, My Meals, Photography, Recipe

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
