RSS

Merry Chocolate Covered Cherry Day!

03 Jan

When I was about 12 years old I feel in love with Queen Anne’s milk chocolate covered cordial cherries.  I quickly lost the love for them probably the next year by eating 1 box a day for about a week straight.  When I was about 16 I discovered Queen Anne’s dark side and fell in love all over again with the dark chocolate variety.  Our relationship lasted a bit longer this time as I only ate 1 box a day each year around this time.  When I was 18 I broke it off with Queen Anne as I lost my love for chocolate and candies in favor for more savory flavors.

Fast forward  7 years and I find myself in Hong Kong tearing apart the candy isle in all of the grocery stores in an attempt to find my long lost love for this special holiday.  Unfortunately I was only able to find her ugly evil step sister in my wife’s secret chocolate stash.

Cadbury’s milk chocolate with cherry flavoured jellies and biscuit pieces is a far cry from what I had in mind…but I will just have to do for today.  At least I was able to celebrate with some form of cherry covered in chocolate!!

To make this better someone should cover some dried cherry pieces in a nice dark chocolate…but keep the biscuit pieces….those were nice 🙂

Next year, someone needs to hold me to this as I’m sure I’ll forget…I’d like to make my own to celebrate.  Something like the stuff at http://www.thecordialcherry.com/ looks like something right up the wifey’s alley.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
