RSS

Don’t be such a Brat…

30 Aug
Don’t be such a Brat…

Yes,  this post goes out to you sir.  The gentleman that I so rudely interrupted from his conversation with the young lady he works with by walking into this establishment.  I understand that in the empty restaurant you must have been quite busy gossiping and me wishing to add a second condiment to my dog is an extreme inconvenience to you.

I’ll cut the sarcasm short here as I’m sure you get the point already and I would hate to write a completely terrible review of this “Hot Dog” joint as they do have a few excellent qualities.

Speaking of which…CHECK OUT THE MINI FRYER BASKETS!!!

This is probably the greatest way I’ve ever seen french fries presented.  The fries in the basket weren’t anything super special but they were good.

 

At Brat you can expect to find quite a decent beer selection to help wash down your sausage and fries. On this visit I enjoyed a Karmeliet which was refreshing and delightfully crisp.

 

 

We now move onto the meat of this review.  I must admit, although there was a bumpy start to the meal with the service, after the fries arrived and I’d had a few sips of beer I was at ease and really excited to bite into one of these highly touted sausages.

These sausages themselves are really good.  Upon first bite you can just hear the snap of the casing before the juiciness of the meat floods your mouth with a savory tsunami sending your taste buds on a surfing adventure.  The rye bun felt and tasted as though it were a day old and a bit stale, having lost all crispness in the crust.  Their classic bun, also felt a bit old, but the crust had a great crunch left in it.

If you make your way to Brat, heed this final warning.  Stay away from the Mac n’ Cheese.  A baked macaroni and cheese with a bread crumb topping can be on of the most delicious side dishes, but without enough sauce it easily becomes a dry, bland, doughy mess.  Unfortunately this was the case on my trip to Brat.

Despite the disgruntled employee and the lack of awesome sauce for the baked Mac, I would like to head back to Brat soon to see if I can purchase some of their sausages to cook at home and enjoy a cold brew while they pack it up for me!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2011 in Beer, food, Lunch, Restaurant Review, Where to Eat

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Don’t be such a Brat…

  1. Karen Lowe

    August 30, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    Next time you are in there you may want to mention that you know a company that bakes great bread 🙂

     
    • John T. Osorio

      August 31, 2011 at 2:43 am

      I’ll be sure to drop names and numbers!

       

Leave a Reply

 
