RSS

Rice Paper

06 Aug

If you don’t know me, then you might not know that I am not the biggest fan of shopping.  *Purchasing food ingredients is obviously not included in the previous statement.*  With this being said, Rice Paper was exactly what I needed today after a emergency shopping spree.  (I actually only bought a pair of pants and a dress shirt and that was enough to put me on edge…)

I may be giving the service a bit more credit than deserved but I going to be positive about the experience and say that the server noted upon my arrival a need to be left alone.  I ordered my beer and it arrived promptly at the table in under 5 minutes.  This is a big step for Hong Kong if you’ve read my previous restaurant reviews.  The server was visibly relieved when I told him he didn’t have to pour it for me.

After cooling off with a few sips of this excellent export my mood was lifting just as my soup arrived.

 

  I’ve had Pho (Raw beef noodles) at quite a few different Vietnamese establishments.  I actually seek it out as I do love a good Pho.  This beef soup wasn’t exactly Pho as it contained no noodles, only a pile of bean sprouts in its place.  This turned out to be in my favor as the portion was quite a bit larger than the server had mentioned.  The pile of fresh herbs on top when combined with a sliver of beef and a splash of soup was a wonderful combination.

 

Last but not least the Banh mi arrived in all it’s crunchy glory.  The baguette was so crispy leading into the crunch from the carrots/daikon chased by the bite of fresh cucumber, all giving me a mild eargasm.  The sandwich as a whole was lacking a little pizazz until I took a bit of the beet/carrot/daikon salad and shoved it in the middle giving it a little kick from the sweet vinegar and the intense heat from some unknown source.

 

My only regret from this trip was not trying a traditional drip coffee.  I had the opportunity to try one in Vietnam earlier this year and wasn’t a fan in the least, but I figured I owed it a second try.  Next time dear Rice Paper….next time.

Check it out for yourself and let me know what you think!

Shop P413-418, 4/F, World Trade Centre, 280 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Rice Paper

  1. Mats Lofstrom

    August 26, 2013 at 11:14 am

    Longing for Banh Mi, I went here today. But, alas, it is closed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
