RSS

Pregnancy safe sushi.

01 Aug

image

image

Tonight I decided to surprise my wife with one of her favorite meals; sushi.  This would normally be a simple task but we are now 7 months pregnant so almost every normal ingredient was out.  This simply posed an excuse for me to get creative.

From left to right we had: chicken terryaki with asparagus, avacado fries with orange bell pepper, ants on a log, caprese salad, and on the bottom is prawn with chives.

I love making and eating sushi. It’s one of the few meals where the focus is on the freshness and preparation of the ingredients. Each individual ingredient has it’s own flavor which is complimented, never covered up or only used to enhance the main ingredient.

Getting the rice correct is so important to making good sushi. I was only halfway successful this evening. My rice was seasoned perfectly but was just a little undercooked. Regardless, I’ll chalk this one up as an overall success!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2011 in Dinner, food, My Meals

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Pregnancy safe sushi.

  1. suad shabbar

    August 2, 2011 at 7:17 am

    I can eat Sushi 8 days a week….

     
    • John T. Osorio

      August 2, 2011 at 10:02 am

      Agreed! I probably would too if it were a bit cheaper. 🙂

       
  2. khushi

    August 9, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    love sushiiiiiiii:)
    A Girl’s Diary

     
    • John T. Osorio

      August 9, 2011 at 6:24 pm

      As do I! What is your favorite sushi ingredient combination?

       

Leave a Reply

 
