RSS

Feeling clammy?

22 Jul

If this title is evocative of your nature, or you’ve simply got cold hands, this post goes out to you.

If there is one thing Hong Kong people know how to do, it’s eat.  Their ability to discern and discribe flavors, aroma, and mouthfeel is quite admirable.  I certainly owe the current state and continued growth in depth of my palate to my wife and her family.  Sitting around a table discussing food is taken to new levels when you are listening to people discribe the way the smell feels in their mouths.

With this being said, it was no wonder I jumped at the opportunity to get the freshest clams available with my father in-law.  Now I wont tell you where we got them exactly as I would like to still have them there next time I go out. I will tell you however, that they’re found burried, not very deep, in the sands of Hong Kong.

After about an hour and a half we had dug ourselves up quite a snack!  Just look at the beautiful shells on these, not to mention the size!  The first one I pulled out of the sand was roughly the size of my palm so I knew instantly that it was going to be a good day.  It was a good day indeed.

image

With the first clam in hand I started salivating at the idea of sauted clams in a pile of garlic but once we got home everyone agreed simply boiling them and tasting their natural flavor would be the only way to have them.

Armed with nothing but our fingers and a few beers we devoured the freshest and sweetest clams I’ve ever had in my life

.image

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2011 in food, Snacks, What I'm eating

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Feeling clammy?

  1. backlinks

    August 18, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get something done.

     
    • John T. Osorio

      August 30, 2011 at 2:34 pm

      Thanks backlinks! Sometimes I feel like I should put a little more time into the articles I write but there is little time and so many ideas. I’m glad you enjoyed the article, please check back soon for more!

       

Leave a Reply

 
