RSS

Creative Rolls

22 Mar

Believe it or not, when it comes to being a professional chef/baker, the days can get a bit repetitive.  Sure, you’ve always got something going wrong that you have to fix, (if this didn’t happen in your day then rest assured that you missed the issue, something unexpected always happens at the wrong moment and you have to fix it) but after you’ve got your crew trained, and a steady flow of customers, the long hours have a way of becoming tedious.

It is quite easy to allow yourself to slip into a routine and just pass the long hours, sweating like mad, on auto pilot.  If I ever find myself in this mode I always try to force myself out of it and either try something I’ve never tried before or ask someone more experienced for a free education.  Well the following is a combination of the two:

My boss (a baker of 35 years and counting) was kind enough to introduce me to the art of creating animals from dough.  We started with the plain white bread (the cheapest stuff for me to play with) and then I gradually worked my way into more temperamental doughs with seeds and different flours, keeping with the same cute hedgehog theme.  On the left we have a soya bean and linseed (flax-seed) bread with pumpkin seeds for eyes.  On the right is a “malted multi-grain” hedgehog with dried cranberry eyes.  The are sitting on a bed of their off spring so to say.

I took both the doughs and rolled them flat, placed one on top of the other and rolled it up.  Then I rolled it out a bit (like stretching a baguette) and cut them into pieces.  A while in the proofer and a bit in the oven and PRESTO!

Fun, twisty rolls the whole family can enjoy 🙂

 

Had to get to them before the dog so I could keep on Eatin’!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 22, 2011 in food, My Meals, Snacks

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Creative Rolls

  1. Brian Osorio's friend Kent

    March 22, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Hey John, its me kent, i am JAMing with Brian. Just wanted to say hi and keep up the good work with the blog!!

     
    • John T. Osorio

      March 23, 2011 at 7:50 pm

      Thanks for dropping by Kent!

       

Leave a Reply

 
