RSS

Move aside Oscar Mayer

07 Feb

You may have your way with b-o-l-o-g-n-a….but what in the world would you do with THIS?

Ah yes, baloney…of the pork variety none the less.  I’ve gone through extreme love-hate relationships with this variety meat.  As a kid I would sing about wishing to be a mystery meat wiener with my brother and friends to show my affection for this Americanized version of the Italian mortadella.  Then some evil child at school told me that to make bologna that they but every thing from pig’s elbows to dog’s a——s inside.  Needless to say I was…and admittedly still am a bit scared from this incident.  Thankfully I decided to pursue a career as a foodie professional and have since learned that I can satisfy the craving from my childhood without suffering severe brain damage.  (Or at least that’s how I’ve come to terms with it.)

So I have a question for you dear readers:  What is your “gross” craving from childhood.  Are you a fan of the infamous Twinkie which has a shelf life that surpasses that of its packaging?  Or are you a SPAM child?  Or are you like me and absolutely can not go to a baseball game without getting your hands on a juicy wiener? ….We’re all adults here right? 😉

Until next time…Keep on Eatin’

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 7, 2011 in Dinner, food, Lunch, Snacks, Travel, What I'm eating

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Move aside Oscar Mayer

  1. TheBlackTwig

    February 7, 2011 at 12:27 am

    In the Philippines, we have a delicacy called “balut”–basically an unhatched duck egg. It might be gross to many but I remember when I was a kid when I used to wait for the vendor shouting “baluuuuuut” at night. Time for midnight snack! 🙂

     
    • John Osorio

      February 7, 2011 at 7:04 am

      I have been living in Hong Kong for the past 2 years and there is a really strong Philippine community here. A few people I work with had been telling me about this balut; of course trying to describe it as the most disgusting thing possible. Well with all of that build up I had to try it for myself and they’re actually REALLY good. Adding a few drops of white vinegar makes the “soup” even better. Next time you’re getting some balut send some my way!

       
  2. Mom

    February 7, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Just to let you know, I only served you all beef bologna! And if I remember correctly you used to gobble up fried bologna and cheese on toast sandwiches.

     
    • John Osorio

      February 7, 2011 at 3:28 pm

      Like I said…love-hate relationship 🙂 Thanks mom!

       

Leave a Reply

 
