RSS

Beirut

28 May

Located at 27 D’Aguilar St. in Lan Kwai Fong is a little Lebanese restaurant/bar/hookah lounge called Beirut.  Like most places in LKF, Beirut serves decent food, probably has a great lunch deal, and is packed on a Friday or Saturday night with the bar crowd.   The unfortunate thing about MOST restaurants in the Lan Kwai Fong area is that they tend to “dumb down” their food to match the masses of people they entertain during the wee hours of the night.

Some of my family is Lebanese/Syrian and the food they put out is PACKED with flavors and cooking techniques.  While Beirut does serve up some classic middle eastern foods, (eg. hummous, shawarma, and salads packed with rough chopped veggies), they are done without the flare which draws us to their cuisine.

Their hummus, while sitting at a perfect consistency, was lacking in flavor.  The lamb shawarma on the other hand lived up to the flavor profile that I was expecting, but unfortunately they decided it was necessary to cook the life out of it.  The rest of the dishes we had this evening were quite tasty, but please don’t ask the names as I can’t pronounce them let alone remember the spelling.

Beirut also offers an pretty decent wine list comprised mostly of new world wines dotted with a few French favorites.

I recommend going to Beirut, especially if you enjoy hookah as it smelled quite tantalizing walking in.  I would just stick to the appetizers and drinks/smokes next time.

Until next time, keep on livin’ to eat!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2009 in Dinner, food, Restaurant Review, Wine

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Beirut

  1. Debbie

    May 29, 2009 at 5:40 am

    From what I remember of my last visit here, Beyruth up on Lyndhurst Terrace was better. Try their shwarma! I’ll totally go with you if you want to try it out.

     
    • Chris

      June 1, 2009 at 1:03 pm

      mmm shwarma, haven’t had any in ages, time to get down with this idea.

      However the added bonus of hookah might get me going to Beirut for drinks, snacks and smokes.

       
  2. John Osorio

    June 1, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    @Debbie: I don’t believe I’ve been up to Beyruth, would definitely be up for giving it a go with you. Let me know when you’re free and we’ll schedule something.

    @Chris: I haven’t had hookah since college, let me know if you’re headed out that way, would like to relive the glory days :-).

     
  3. Rola

    February 10, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Im a women and like to open my small business but i didn’t found any support for me! but suddenly someone surprise me and give me a help it was a small loan but for me im so happy coz it was the start and the begining of my success , so coz of that im here now posting just to say so rarely to found these days person who care.

     
    • John Osorio

      February 10, 2010 at 5:08 pm

      @Rola: Are you the owner of Beirut? If so, I understand your comment and its my pleasure to direct people to great food. If you’re not the owner then I’m not sure what your comment is actually about, could you please elaborate? Either way, thanks for reading! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
