RSS

Tao Kae Noi

16 Feb

Tao Kae NoiI’m not even going to pretend that I speak Japanese or know what “Tao Kae Noi” actually means.  But after having these crispy seaweed snacks, I’m going to say it really just means tasty seaweed.  Personally I love seaweed.  Then again, I don’t often run into foods I’m not fond of.

These seaweed snacks were quite tasty.  The good and bad thing about this snack is that it is just seaweed, oil, salt, and pepper.  Its good because you don’t lose the natural flavor of the ocean do to excessive flavorings.  Its bad because, although this was a decent sized bag, and I couldn’t stop after I had the first one, I was still starving by the time I got home.  I’m not sure if we can even classify seaweed with the snacks, its more like gum or mints where you just eat it for the flavor.  I just don’t suggest replacing the gum or mints with seaweed unless your date enjoys the smell of stale ocean on your breath.

I think next time I’ll try adding it into a sandwich or with steamed rice could be good too.

 
27 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2009 in food, Product Review, Snacks

 

Tags: , , ,

27 responses to “Tao Kae Noi

  1. D

    September 18, 2009 at 11:54 am

    Tao Kae Noi is actually a Thai word =D (Don’t ask me what it means cos I don’t know either.)

    I’m also a big fan of Tao Kae Noi. Can’t stop eating it once you’ve opened the bag!

     
    • John Osorio

      January 30, 2010 at 9:08 am

      Thank you for the correction D. Now being in Hong Kong for almost 2 years I’m just starting to be able to tell the difference of the chinese characters but anything else is still beyond me lol.

       
    • motherhead

      May 9, 2013 at 11:42 am

      it means young entrepreneur… ^__^V

       
  2. chan

    February 23, 2010 at 1:33 am

    Tao Kae Noi means young entrepreneur, or little millionaire. I really admire the owner of the company. He’s only 23.

     
    • chan

      February 23, 2010 at 1:35 am

      By the way, the company is making $300M last year alone. They projected $600-700M this year.

       
      • John Osorio

        February 24, 2010 at 4:39 pm

        @chan: Thank you so much for this information! I had no idea that a guy my age had such a successful company!

         
  3. Victor

    March 3, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Hello Everybody, We have this product in stock , many different flavors, fast shipping, come often we just opened, you can contact me if you dont see the product on the site, we are updating site everyday.

     
  4. Tokidoki

    July 8, 2010 at 2:48 am

    Tao Kae Noi means Old Wise Little-(Old Man) when you translate Thai it is always mixed up in English.
    Yes it is so addicting! Wasabi is bomb!

     
  5. Valeri

    March 4, 2011 at 7:13 am

    I usually go for the Korean seaweed snack, but was in a bind and super hungry, so I picked this up and it’s delicious. Not as salty as the other, but really interesting. I love green food and I love seaweed. This WOULD be outstanding in a sandwich, but it doesn’t stay crispy long… so I’m not sure I would like it for anything other than a healthy snack. I have a few slices with a glass of buttery chardonnay whilst reclining in front of the tv after a long work day. Granted, it doesn’t fill you up, but who cares? It’s delicious!

     
    • John T. Osorio

      March 4, 2011 at 8:32 am

      @valeri: Do you have a name for said Korean seaweed snack? I’m quite interested in trying your idea of buttery chardonnay and seaweed snacks. I’ve been thinking about a wine enhanced ceviche for some time now. Perhaps a salmon, seaweed, chardonnay ceviche? *Writes possible recipe ideas*

       
  6. Heather-Lynn Passmore

    March 12, 2011 at 9:38 am

    I love this seaweed as well! Since I’ve been low carbing I haven’t been able to have ketchup flavoured potato chips. When I tried these in “tomato” flavour it was like love at first sight! All the flavour & crunch but completely allowed and full of vitamins and minerals!

     
    • John T. Osorio

      March 12, 2011 at 4:04 pm

      I’m a little nervous about trying their other flavors. Things like this tend to go down hill after the company tries to appease more palates, in a sense loosing their original amazing product. But I’m going to give tomato a go with an open mind! 🙂

       
  7. rizkianto

    August 8, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    just bought this snack yesterday.. i thought that “tempura” Tao Kae Noi means nori snack with prawn-tempura flavor but what i get is nori snack wrapped in batter, but still, this snack is quite delicious… even the wasabi is my favorite one… 😀

     
    • John T. Osorio

      August 9, 2011 at 6:23 pm

      I was unaware that they even made a temoura flavor! I’ll have to keep an eye out for this in the stores to expand my seaweed snack options! Thanks for the tip.

       
  8. James Miller

    November 20, 2011 at 10:30 am

    Where can I buy Tao Kae Noi seaweed crunch?

     
    • John T. Osorio

      December 6, 2011 at 2:31 am

      Where do you live?

       
  9. jeffry

    December 26, 2011 at 1:41 am

    Tae kae noi is mean bad boy… see the movie…

     
    • John T. Osorio

      January 1, 2012 at 6:20 pm

      Which movie?

       
      • Betty

        January 3, 2012 at 3:52 pm

        I think it’s “The Billionaire”

         
    • Sara

      June 5, 2012 at 4:08 pm

      actually, it means “young millionaire” the owner of tao kae noi is very young, he start business when he was 19.

       
  10. mursid

    January 27, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    you have to watch the movie “The Billionaire”.
    it is a very inspiring movie and very recommended for young man who wants to be an entrepreneur rather to be an employee.
    the story of a young man from Thailand called “Top Ittipad” builds his company from 17 years old and becoming a billionaire in 26 years old. Payback all of his parents debt about 40 mio bath in his 21 years old age.

    Tao Kae Noi means Young Entrepreneur
    I’ve written an overview about the Key Succees of Top Ittipad in my blog, unfortunally it’s in Indonesian language, so you wont understand 🙂

     
    • darwinxie

      March 27, 2012 at 9:04 pm

      I’ve just watched the movie. It’s really a good movie. The depiction of Top’s struggle to build Tao Kae Noi is put into great detail. Inspiring me to create a food industry someday.

       
  11. Nice

    April 22, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    http://www.facebook.com/topsecretmovie

    This is the Facebook Fan Page of The Billionaire Film (in Thai Language only).

     
  12. jackie

    June 10, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    i love this snack. tasted it when i went to bali and cant get enough of it ❤

     

Leave a Reply

 
