RSS

Braised Lamb Shank

06 Feb

Today is Friday, the day where I must choose whether to repeat one of the set lunch menu items or go for one of the standard menu items.  Today I opted to go for the braised lamb shank on the standard menu with the soup of the day (potato leek).  This is probably one of my favorite dishes at The Real Bread Cafe because it is cooked PERFECTLY.  You can literately grab that boned and shake the meat right off.  The sauce is thickened just right as to be heavy enough for the mashed potatoes without being overwhelming on the lamb meat.  The vegetables are usually a little bland but today I was pleasantly surprised with a nice kick of garlic.

The soup on the other hand was a little off putting.  It may be an American thing where our potato leek soups have nice chunks of potatoes and leeks in a thickened savory sauce but that is what I was expecting.  Now don’t get me wrong, the soup was still tasty, but they had pureed everything together and ran it through a sieve.  I was saddened without soft little chunks of potato and still crunchy strips of leek.  Overall it was a good lunch and now I’m off to get some laundry.

Keep on eatin’

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2009 in food, Lunch, What I'm eating

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Braised Lamb Shank

  1. Debbie

    February 12, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    Dude, that looks so amazing – I’ll have to try it sometime.

    If you find a good potato leek soup, let me know. I really miss it. And anything with fennel or polenta, because our chefs used to add that shit everything and I never thought I’d miss it…but I do. I really really do.

     
  2. Chris

    February 16, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Mmmm. Stop making me hungry at work John! I totally agree about chunky soup, it makes for a much heartier warming meal with it. Lamb shank is lovely although I am also partial to slow braised shoulder as well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
