RSS

Apple Curry Chicken Pita

24 Sep

I found this recipe for Apple Curry Turkey Pita on allrecipes.com and had every intention of following the recipe exactly but once I returned defeated from the grocery store with no turkey breasts in hand, I decided to make a few slight changes.  First I had to change the turkey to chicken.  Second, I forgot to pick up lemon juice so I had to make do with white wine.  I also added 2 cloves of garlic and some iceberg lettuce.  I had some sour cream that was getting a little old so I mixed the plain yogurt with the sour cream.

I imagine that if I were able to get turkey instead this would have been an even better meal but I thoroughly enjoyed not only eating, but making this simple recipe.  The only thing I may attempt to do differently next time will be to cut the chicken (hopefully turkey) into smaller chunks.  I had cut the chicken into 1/2 inch cubes which just seemed to be a little too large.  Also I think I’ll take the time to make tzatziki (cucumber-yogurt sauce) because while my sour cream-plain yogurt mixture was tasty, I just felt cheated from that little bit of extra flavor.

The following is the original recipe as found posted on allrecipes.com by MOONNOODLE:

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup sliced onion
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 pound cooked turkey, cut into chunks
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder, or to taste
  • 1 medium apple, cored and thinly sliced
  • 3 pita bread rounds
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Stir in onion and lemon juice. Cook until onion is tender. Mix in turkey, season with curry powder and continue cooking until heated through.
  2. Remove from heat. Stir in apple. Stuff pitas with the mixture. Drizzle with yogurt to serve.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 24, 2008 in Dinner, food, My Meals, Recipe

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
