RSS

Chilli Crab

15 Sep

I was in Singapore this weekend and had a great time.  Aside from the Night Safari, staying at the Four Seasons, and a trip to little India, my favorite experience had to be dinner the first night we were there.  We ate at Jumbo (not sure which location sorry).  All the food we had there was quite good but I’ve been hearing about chilli crab for a few years now and was very excited to give it a try.

Basically chilli crab (and pepper crab) is steamed whole crab that has been cracked, sautéed, and then quickly simmered in a chilli sauce. (Pepper crab is simmered in a black pepper sauce instead.)

I must admit that I was slightly disappointed with how mild my chilli crab was.  I’ve heard horror stories of how spicy chilli crab is and it was actually quite tolerable.  Overall I was very happy with our meal at Jumbo and quite impressed with the chilli crab.  I think I’ll start mastering my chilli sauce skills next.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 15, 2008 in Dinner, food

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Chilli Crab

  1. Foodycat

    October 11, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    I’m going to be in Singapore at the beginning of January – I am so interested to read your food experiences there!

     

Leave a Reply

 
