RSS

Chez Patrick

15 Jul

Last week when walking home I stumbled upon Chez Patrick.  After checking out the menu I decided to take my family there for dinner.  Chez Patrick is a french restaurant serving lunch and dinner by the course.  They have two locations, one on Peel Street in Central and the other on Sun Street in Wan Chai.  We had dinner at the Peel Street location and had a great time.

When we walked into the dimly lit dining room we were greeted instantly by eager wait staff.  After dealing with some confusion we were led to our table.  (My father placed our reservation at the Sun Street location on accident.)  After making our water selection (sparking or still) we were promptly joined by the chef.  The chef described the specials that he had prepared for the evening, each sounding especially wonderful through his french accent.

For my appetizer I chose one of the specials which was smoked foie gras injected with whiskey served with some raw salmon and a small mixed green salad.  I thought that the foie gras was over smoked and that if it were indeed injected with whiskey, there wasn’t enough because the flavor was lost to the smoke.

My main dish was partridge which was cooked to perfection.  Simply delicious.  I couldn’t get enough of its juicy meat and the sauce was beyond words.  We also had the cheese platter which was to die for.  There was a vast selection from blues to runny brie types.  It was simply delicious and well layed out.

My parents told me that they have never been served a good poached pear so I had to give this one a try.  The poaching liquid was very tasty, but the pear was served cold.  I would have enjoyed it much more if it were warm.  The texture was just about there, the pear could have probably been poached for another minute or two and would have been perfect.  Then again if it were served warm it probably wouldn’t have had that problem at all.

Overall I enjoyed my meal at Chez Patrick.  Some parts of the meal could have been better but the partridge and the cheese platter (and the wine…sorry I cant remember what it was exactly) made up for it.  I suggest taking a loved one to Chez Patrick for a romantic evening.  I’d just stay away from the smoker 🙂

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Chez Patrick

  1. Noami

    August 6, 2009 at 11:16 am

    John, I was dissapointed, the last time at Chez Patrick,
    then took noticed that the Chef Dimitri wasn’t working at that restaurant anymore, he was a briliant chef in Patrick’s kitchen. Now he’s officie in Green Mouse Restaurant, the most funny thing is,he is just in front of Chez Patrick. The deco is simple, almost so-so but the food is better and the portion is bigger all that for a so good value!!!! i hightly recommand to you and your friends, Noami

     
    • John Osorio

      January 30, 2010 at 9:07 am

      Thanks for the comment Noami. I’ve heard a lot of bad news as far as Chez Patrick goes recently. I hear they are going to close down the Wan Chai location?

       

Leave a Reply

 
