RSS

A day in Stanley

24 Jun

This weekend I traveled to the south side of Hong Kong Island to Stanley Plaza where my family and I ate lunch, took some pictures, ate some gelato, took some more pictures, and went home.  A very fulfilling day indeed. 

This area of the island was a nice escape from the everyday hustle and bustle of central Hong Kong.  It is far less polluted and there aren’t many huge skyscrapers blocking the natural beauty that surrounds us.  As I said before we had a nice lunch outside at Sea Front.  I had an “American” burger which was slightly dissapointing because it was a cooked ground beef patty between two buns, with a mixed greens salad on the side and a pile of fries.  This is all fine and dandy but I would have liked to see atleast an onion or some mayo on my burger, but the fries were extremely delicious and the meat was seasoned well so I soon forgot about my lack of toppings.  I washed it all down with a Hoegaarden from the tap which was quite refreshing.

We walked around for awhile after lunch to discover what Stanley may have to offer and wound up in my favorite place in the whole wide world……the grocery store!  This one happened to be a Taste, one of the better local grocery stores.  I love the selection offered by the grocery stores in Hong Kong, especially compared to those typically found in the United States.  They had a great selection of fresh fish that you can buy the whole thing, or select a portion that you would like and they’ll cut it up right there for you.

They also have a great selection of live seafood:

As well as ready to eat items:

After walking around Taste for awhile, we decided it would be a good idea to get some gelato seeing how the temperature just kept climbing.  We squeezed passed the running children into gino’sgelato where the intoxicating aroma of waffel cones filled the air.  They had a pretty good selection of gelato to choose from ranging from vanilla to mango ginger to tofu.  I would typically just go with the vanilla but my girlfriend Katie and I have been discussing my lack of joy when it comes to sweets and how vanilla is so plain. (Ok so she is pretty much just wierded out that I only eat vanilla ice cream.)  So with this in mind, and strawberry basil on the menu, I tried something new. Turns out that strawberry basil gelato is quite delicious, so long as you don’t mind the taste of basil in the back of your throat for the next few hours.

Overall I had a great day in Stanley.  If you’re ever in the area, give gino’sgelato a try and have yourself a scoop of strawberry basil.  You’re in for a real treat.

Finding something new, one more reason to live to eat.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 24, 2008 in Beer, Dessert, food, Travel, Where to Eat

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “A day in Stanley

Leave a Reply

 
