RSS

The secret of Chocolux

21 Jun

I was walking around SOHO last night with my parents after dinner looking for a place to have a drink and dessert if possible. We came across a few places that I will probably go back and try for drinks and appetizers but I was trying to accommodate the group as a whole and find some dessert. After exhausting our options on the “main” streets I decided to walk up a darker alleyway where I saw a few more restaurant signs. When we got to the darkest portion of the street I saw a sign with no lights on it reading “Chocolux”. Below the sign was a set of curtains that were closed and the place looked completely empty. I decided this place looked promising and we slowly made our way in. What a great little gem was waiting for us on the other side of those curtains.

57 Peel Street SOHO Central Hong Kong is home of one of the best molten chocolate cakes I have ever had. Paired with the only port they had on the menu, this dessert was delicious. I’m not typically a huge dessert fan but the cake was recommended at the house specialty so I gave it a whirl.

It took only ten minutes before I had my plate in front of me with a tiny scoop of ice cream and small molten chocolate cake still steaming from the oven. The cake was stiff, but moist and the volcano of ganache came erupting out of the cake as soon as you stuck your fork into it.

For those chocolate lovers out there, I highly suggest making your way to Chocolux for a great dessert experience. They also have a great selection of chocolate martinis and other alcoholic beverages focusing on chocolate.

Finding the little gems, one more reason to live to eat.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 21, 2008 in Dessert, food, Where to Eat

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The secret of Chocolux

  1. jen

    June 5, 2009 at 10:07 am

    john,
    thanks for the wonderful review! Do you mind if we quote you on our website?
    Thanks!
    Jen

     
    • John Osorio

      June 5, 2009 at 10:49 am

      Jen I would be honored to be quoted on your website. I love your bar, will have to try out the cafe soon.

       

Leave a Reply

 
