RSS

My meals: Orange Ruffie Cesar Salad

18 Jun

When scurrying through the seafood section at 360 (a local grocery store) I stumbled across a great looking fillet of Orange Ruffie.  I had never cooked one of these before and it was cheaper than salmon so I was all over it.  I decided to play it safe, not knowing the flavor of this fish, so I simply sprinkled a little Lawry’s seasoned salt and fresh cracked pepper over both sides and pan fried it with just a little bit of canola oil.

I then chopped up a small head of romaine lettuce, washed it, and poured some cesar dressing on top and tossed it with some parmesan cheese.  Plated up the salad, added some marinated artichoke hearts, laid orange ruffie fillets on top and finished it off with a little parmesan cheese and fresh cracked pepper.

Turns out orange ruffie has the the flavor and texture close to that of haddock.  Some what mild fishiness and when cooked properly is tender and really juicy.  I think next time I cook this fish I think I will put it into a paella.  If you can get your hands on some I highly recommend giving it a try.  Just a light seasoning with salt and pepper would do but it wouldn’t kill it to add some slightly heavier seasonings especially if you are a huge fan of the fishy flavor.

Orange Ruffie, one more reason to live to eat.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 18, 2008 in food, My Meals, Recipe

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
