RSS

Breadless “BLT” bowls

02 Mar

In my vast search for more and more food knowledge, I came across a post about these breadless BLT bowls and I feel as though I must share.

You can find the original article here: http://www.notmartha.org/archives/2008/02/27/bacon-cups/

After reading the article I was inspired. What else can I make with my new found knowledge? It just so happened that I have a very large, stainless steal mixing bowl and two packages of bacon in the freezer. I decided to use this weaving technique on the entire bowl, well, as far as two packs of bacon got me. This took me quite some time because the bacon kept slipping out of place. When I finally got it all in place I baked it for about ten minutes at 350. I let it cool and had no problem peeling off the foil. I then made a salad of romaine lettuce, halved grape tomatoes, and gorgonzolla cheese. I then borrowed notmartha.org’s idea and made a mock ceasar dressing with mayonnaise to make my “BLT” complete. I tossed the salad in the dressing, put it all in the big bacon bowl, and enjoyed with a few friends. Everyone loved their breadless “BLT”.

I would say this is a great recipe for one of those low-carb diets, but if your really worried about dieting, bacon is probably one of the last foods on your mind. I highly suggest this for an impressive display if nothing else at your next get together.

Playing with food, one more reason to live to eat.

Spicing up your life,

John T. Osorio

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 2, 2008 in food

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Breadless “BLT” bowls

  1. Your Momma

    March 5, 2008 at 5:38 am

    Will have to make this one for your Dad, mmmm bacon! Found the following recipe that you may want to try out.

    http://www.browniepointsblog.com/
    Homemade Bacon Vodka
    makes up one pint

    Fry up three strips of bacon.
    Add cooked bacon to a clean pint sized mason jar. Trim the ends of the bacon if they are too tall to fit in the jar. Or you could go hog wild and just pile in a bunch of fried up bacon scraps. Optional: add crushed black peppercorns.
    Fill the jar up with vodka. Cap and place in a dark cupboard for at least three weeks. That’s right- I didn’t refrigerate it.
    At the end of the three week resting period, place the bacon vodka in the freezer to solidify the fats. Strain out the fats through a coffee filter to yield a clear filtered pale yellow bacon vodka.

    Decant into decorative bottles and enjoy.

     
  2. Courtney

    March 6, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    this sounds like it was amazing! nice work

     

Leave a Reply

 
