RSS

Product Review: Gnocchi in a Tomato Mozzarella Sauce

22 Jan

Bertolli-Gnocchi in a Tomato Mozzarella Sauce

Enjoy the rustic taste of Sorrento, a colorful part of Italy’s Campania region overlooking the Bay of Naples. This simple and hearty dish is typical of the region and features gnocchi, a soft, delicate potato and flour dumpling. A sauce made of creamy cow’s milk mozzarella and vine-ripened tomatoes completes the dish.”

Eight minutes in the skillet unlocks a taste and aroma as delicious as you would find in an authentic Italian restaurant.”

These are the words that can be found on the back of the frozen bag of Gnocchi in Tomato Mozzarella Sauce.

 

I prepared this as a side dish for a few of my friends on our last wine night and they all loved it. The gnocchi comes out perfectly tender and the sauce has a great consistency. There are only a few changes that I made to to make this an exceptional dish. First of all I found the sauce to be a little bland so I added ¼ teaspoon of salt, a pinch of black pepper, and a small dash of cayenne pepper. This brought out all of the flavor that Bertolli put in their sauce. If you complement this with just a splash of cabernet sauvignon I guarantee your taste buds will thank you and your friends will be begging for more, and for your recipe.

 

The only other problem I had with this dish was the clean up. This was only my fault because I was so hungry I decided to put off the dishes until I was done eating. I suggest if your hunger takes the lead, at least soak the pan in water so clean up can remain a breeze.

 

Simple changes to a frozen item can make a world of difference. Finding ways to enhance flavors is just another reason I live to eat.

 

Spicing up your life,

John T. Osorio

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 22, 2008 in Product Review

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Product Review: Gnocchi in a Tomato Mozzarella Sauce

  1. Courtney

    February 2, 2008 at 9:57 am

    I’m really glad you are keeping up with this, its awesome. maybe ill get to taste a creation someday!

     

Leave a Reply

 
