RSS

Missouri Wine

11 Jan

I’ll be the first to admit that I have an addiction to not only food, but wine. I have been studying wine for about four years now and came to a huge shock today, I don’t know half as much as I thought I did. Sure I know the methods of wine making, and I know tasting procedures, but about the grapes and wines available in the world, I haven’t touched the tip of the iceberg.

Today I tasted about twenty different varietals that I have never tasted, let alone heard of before. I also learned alot about Missouri’s wine history. Prior to prohibittion, Missouri was the United States’ largest wine producer, making about 2 million gallons per year. Missouri also had the first and second recognized American Viticultural Areas in the US, Agusta in 1980 and Hermann in 1983.

Rich in hitory and multiple varities of wine, Missouri is a fast growing addition to the American wine industry. I highly suggest getting your hands on a bottle of Norton wine from around 2003 that has had atleast 10 months of oak, you’ll love it.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 11, 2008 in Wine

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Missouri Wine

  1. Brian

    January 16, 2008 at 4:26 am

    Sounds like you and mom had a good time up there. Hope you’re having a good time back up at school. Drop a line sometime!

     

Leave a Reply

 
